Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Evil Music Will Befall You

(Parts of this collection are now available on my dark ambient blog. Direct link is here.)

I have an affinity for evil things. Evil movies, evil books, and most of all, evil music. For me this is the summer of Coil, of Current 93, of doom and death metal, of dark & techy drum & bass, of cold dark ambient soundscapes, of distortion pedals and quiet weeping. And for the second year in a row, I'm going to unleash my firestorm of woe on a (kind of) unsuspecting audience.

Last year I made a retrospective goth mixtape (highlighting mostly UK gloom bands circa 1980 - 1983) and air-dropped the CDs on a (kind of) unsuspecting city the week before Halloween. The faces of the CDs were blank, save for the words Do Not Play hastily scrawled in black marker. I did submit the track list to Gracenote's CDDB, but I left my name completely out of it. It was, until this moment, an anonymous, aural assault on the hipsters and freaks bold enough to take the CDs home and... well, play them.

Here's the track list of last year's collection:

  1. ii:ii II:II - Do Not Play
  2. Einst├╝rzende Neubauten - Steh Auf Berlin
  3. Bauahus - Double Dare
  4. Psychic TV - Southern Coumfort
  5. The Cure - Splintered In Her Head
  6. Killing Joke - The Wait
  7. ii:ii II:II - Transmitting From The Basement Of Hell
  8. Meat Beat Manifesto - God O.D. (Part 4)
  9. Delerium - Lost Passion
  10. Cocteau Twins - Blood Bitch
  11. Sonic Youth - I Don't Want To Push It
  12. II:II ii:ii - Interlude I
  13. Coil - Titan Arch
  14. Joy Division - She's Lost Control
  15. Giorgio Moroder - Night Rabbit
  16. Siouxsie & The Banshees - Premature Burial
  17. Coil - Hellraiser Box Theme
  18. Tones On Tail - Christian Says
  19. II:II ii:ii - Interlude II
  20. Test Dept - Fall From Light
  21. ii:ii II:II - He Has Waited For This Night
And so I find myself, now that summer has reached its peak, starting to pull together another dark collection of stomach-turning sounds to foist upon a hapless city in the prime weeks of autumn. The Antichrist is the theme of this year's collection. The Book of Revelations will serve as my guide. Darkness will penetrate my iPod. Puppies will quiver in corners. Candles will float through dark, empty rooms. Wheels of despair will grind slowly. Your mom will ask you to turn it down.

I'll be distributing the putrid discs randomly throughout the uptown, dinkytown, and downtown areas on the weekends of the 3rd and the 10th of October. Think of it as an evil Easter egg hunt. You might find a disc in a random gas station bathroom, or in between sweaters at a used haberdashery. But you'll certainly find them on flier tables in indie businesses up and down avenues Lyndale, Hennepin, Como, University, Washington, and Nicollet. I plan on making around 100 copies this year. (E-mail me or leave a comment if you want a copy of last year's collection.)

So when you're out shopping for black lipstick or trying out leather slings this fall, look for blank CDs with the words He Sees You hastily scrawled in black ink and left suspiciously perched in upsetting, out of the way corners. On second thought, be thankful if you don't find one. It will be the sonic equivalent of suffering turned inside out.

This year there will be no mercy.

(Ooo! But there will be a brand new, super secret surprise bootleg remix of an early 80's Cure song.)


ash966 said...

I want one!

Cheshire HellKat said...

Is it possible to get one? Or at least to know what the super secret track is?

Since I only caught on this year I've been looking at old blogs trying to find the tracklist and also whatever was on the CD so I can make myself an almost exact replica.

It isn't as exciting as when I found this years pumpkin one, but for some reason it means a lot to me. I know this is one CD I'll keep forever, no joke. If I ever have kids (or, more likely, when my sister has kids) I can tell them all about the exciting Halloween releases a very generous MN man so dedicatedly distributed. :)

Jason Herrboldt said...

@Cheshire HellKat:

Thank you so much for the warm response to finding my mixtape. You sound like the exact target audience member I was aiming for. I'd be happy to post the 2007 Halloween mixtape as soon as my bandwidth ratio opens up.

For now, just know that the 2007 mixtape mostly contains other people's music. It is a playlist in the purest sense of the word. I added very little original content, other than the intro (which can be found here: http://hardcoremathuser.blogspot.com/2008/12/do-not-play.html
) and Transmitting From The Basement Of Hell (which can be found here: http://hardcoremathuser.blogspot.com/2009/07/transmitting-from-basement-of-hell.html).

Interludes 1 and 2 and He Has Waited For This Night are just 30 second audio clips from John Carpenter's Halloween.

Jason Herrboldt said...

@CheshireHellKat: The 2007 mix has now been posted.